Sparrow on a bench outside
Credit: Moujib Aghrout

50 Simple Ideas for Productivity, Better Habits and Creativity

Tips for finding focus and clarity

Joanna Ngai
6 min readJul 25, 2022

--

1. Commit to the goal you will accomplish at the start of a week

Meet with stakeholders to agree and develop a plan.

2. Turn off alerts

Remove distractions like email, slack, phone, social media, etc. for scheduled focus time.

3. Break up work into manageable chunks

Build in time for focus and breaks.

4. Prioritize

Limit your checklist. Know that your capacity and energy ebb and flow throughout the day. Be flexible.

Consider:

What do I need to do today?

What do I want to do today?

What can I put off until another day?

What can I ask someone else to do for me?

Sea turtles on beach
Credit: Joe Cook

5. Pacing vs. Big push

--

--